31 hours. 40 minutes. That’s how much time is separating myself and a flight taking me to Lake Tahoe, California where I’ll be spending 9 weeks on a summer project. I haven’t raised all my support. I don’t feel like I’m packed for all this. I’m not going to know a single person there except from who I have talked to through the facebook group. As this past week has come to a close and final papers, presentations and exams have gone by, my mind was, to put it simply, stressed. However, every time I felt overwhelmed, unprepared or disappointed at my devotion to raising support, through prayer I would be able to get support out of nowhere, get an extension on a paper, etc.

God has taught me immensely throughout this past year and mainly in these past couple of weeks about the power of prayer. It’s constantly preached to “pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17), yet I feel I don’t do that as often as I should. However we see so often in the Bible that God loves it when his people come to him and pray. So often, God holds out on us until we humbly come and seek his help. At times, I like to try every possible solution to a problem I can think of, but it’s only until I give it up to God and pray to him that things appear to work out. I’m not saying that God is a vending machine and that if I pray that he will provide in the way I desire him to, but that if I recognize his greatness and power and do my best to discern his will for my life, I will certainly not be disappointed.

I pray that I can keep this attitude to “pray without ceasing” and I pray that for all of you as well. To those going on a summer project to Slovenia, Virginia Beach, Ocean City or the many others, I hope y’all (this is the part where my southern jargon comes into play) keep this mindset because it’s going to be important with the summer ahead and the weight it carries. And to those who are staying in Athens or going home and working and spending time with family, know that this this mindset is just as important. When I saw friends going off on project last summer and me sitting on my butt at home without a consistent job, I certainly did not pray continually, but very much the opposite and the results of that ended up in a pretty lazy summer with not too much to look back on with satisfaction or accomplishment. So I hope y’all find this somewhat encouraging and I humbly ask you guys to please pray for each other this summer and for me as I head out to Tahoe, “cause I’m leaving on a(n air) plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again, and oh babe, I hate to go. . . .” Sorry, that was John Denver talking, not me. . . yeah.

I’m going to do my best to update this thing over the summer with stories and pictures of Tahoe, so I’ll give you guys a little taste of where I’ll be staying this summer (link below)! Well, it seems that Hebrews has been the book of the quarter with Campus Crusade for Christ at Ohio University, so I feel it fit to end with a verse from Hebrews.

“Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” – Hebrews 4:16

