The countdown on my summer project page has been counting down for months now. 23 days. That means that in 23 days, I will be embarking on the journey of a lifetime to put it into a cheesy, overused phrase. This summer, I decided to take a step of faith and apply for a summer project through Campus Crusade for Christ (http://campuscrusadeforchrist.com/) here at Ohio University. When asked about trying out a summer project last year and even this year, I chuckled off the idea and put away the pamphlet. For the longest time, evangelizing was just not my thing. I never liked the idea of it in high school or even early in college. But over winter break, I pondered what I would be doing this summer. I had nothing. Everything about a summer project was daunting to me: raising $3,000 in a few short months, attempting to share Christ with people I would not know nor probably ever meet again and traveling to a place where I would know nobody. But God put it on my heart to take a risk and just apply to see what happened. Well, 5 months later, I’m 23 days away from leaving for Lake Tahoe, California and have raised almost $1,500. I am amazed at what God has done in my life these past few months and especially in the past couple weeks as I have found a resurgence for reconnecting and contacting people about the letters I’ve sent and the response has been nothing but positive.

This makes me think about a big doubt I have as well as many other Christians I’m sure: Why do we constantly fail to trust God with our life? For me, it’s usually fear that I’ll be taken down a path that may not be as easy as I’d like. Or pure laziness and procrastination leads me to fearing that if I were to work hard towards something, it may actually happen. Slowly, but surely I am gaining more confidence in God and myself and trusting more of my life to him.

I greatly look forward to June 9th when I hop on a flight and make my way to California for 9 weeks. A main reason for making this blog is not to rant thoughts as I walk to class or things that have bugged me lately (although maybe just a few) but with this, I hope to update anyone who reads this (and for myself to remember things) as to what I am doing over the summer and as I experience this great thing called Summer Project. And I hope that through this, perhaps someone can decide to set aside their fears and doubts as to what God can do in their life and apply for a Summer Project, or a Vision Trip. If it doesn’t do that, well I hear it looks good on a résumé. Now check out the gorgeous picture below of Lake Tahoe.

Psalm 56:11: “in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”

The most gorgeous picture ever. 9 weeks of this = win.

